(Close Window)
Topic: Small hands?
Hey guys, this is my first "official" post on the forums! =D

Just recently, I have been experimenting with the material on Jeff McBride's "Art of Card Manipulation, Vol. 1". I can perform the material, but it feels very forced and cramped. My hands are quite small, and I was wondering if I will overcome this with practice, or if this handicap will render me unable to perform this material effectively? Has anyone else on the forums had to deal with this obstacle? I am not new to magic, but I have limited experience with more advanced card manipulations. I'm not what you would call a "card guy," but I'm looking to expand my repitoire.

Thanks for all the help, and best wishes!

-Austin Messer
Welcome to the Café! I'd say that with practice, you'll find what works best for you, even if you have small hands.

Hang in there. You'll be knocking them out soon enough with your advanced card sleights.

Mark. :)
Hey , Aaron Fischer has small hands (or wait... maybe I'm thinking of Lee Asher) and he is an accomplished card worker.

I recommend using Bridge-Sized cards for some of McBride's manipulations, especially backpalm work, you will find it much easier and effective for your physical attributes! good luck, it takes a lot of practice.
I used to use bridge size cards when I was younger. But when I got in to back palms and split fans I found poker size cards easier to work with. I can't remember which volume of the McBride tapes its on, but he explains how to prepare the cards, soften them up essentially. This was a big help to me.
I have small hands as well, but with practice, I was able to overcome that obstacle. You will most likely be able to, also.
I'm no expert in XCM but I too have small hands, but all I can say is TRY. The main reason I say this is in my case I got it into my head a few months ago that I NEEDED to be able to do a one hand riffle shuffle, it looked good and I 'needed' to learn it.