(Close Window)
Topic: UHF Wireless Vanishes with Digital TV Conversion?
I was talking to the sound tech at a show today. He complimented me on buying the Electro-Voice RE-2 Digital wireless mic. He went on to explain that once the TV networks convert to digital in February, that the UHF "white channels" will cease to exist - which, according to him, means that UHF wireless mic transmitters and receivers will cease to function.

I'm no techie, but it seems to me that the frequencies will exist regardless of whether or not they're being used. The stations don't create these frequencies. If they still exist then the UHF transmitters and receivers will continue to function just fine. Now that's what my limited tech logic says.

So, I have to ask - was he yanking my chain or can we look for for the older UHF wireless mic transmitters and receivers to stop working in 2009?

Dan?
Dan, I don't have an answer but was wondering the same thing and if it applies for UHF wirless systems also? I had a friend that runs the sound system at church and claims that they have recieved notices that there are potential problems with the white channels. I wanted to buy another UHF system but am hesitant until I know what will happen in Feb.
Message: Posted by: Dan McLean Jr aka, Magic Roadie (Oct 5, 2008 07:04AM)
What's often being called the he "white space" issue is very controversial, and its eventual outcome is not yet set in stone. It is scary, though.

This is not a simple topic, and complete answers probably cannot come in a single sentence, but, for one good overview, check out [url=http://www.shure.com/ProAudio/PressRoom/WhiteSpaces/index.htm]Shure's pages[/url] dedicated to the issue, especially the first two links, "White Spaces Overview" and "White Spaces FAQ".
First the "Rabbit Police," now this? Yeesh!

Lyndel
Message: Posted by: Dan McLean Jr aka, Magic Roadie (Oct 5, 2008 01:39PM)