(Close Window)
Topic: Why is the street guy posting over here?
Well firstly I manipulate for a living all day long and I love this section.

also.

it is my hopes that the future of street performing magicians is going to be done by magicians.

this is the main reason I am posting here. I know there are some serious guys here.....i know I have met some of you on my travels.

there are quite a few street performing magicians doing bad magic, that are not magicians.

they are fellahs who are very wise in the art and science of crowd building and extracting money from strangers. they have devoted their lives to this wisdom.

but since they have put all their focus on the business end the show part of show business has suffered for it.

their skills as magicians is very often amatuer. they merely use it as a draw or gimmick to build and hold a crowd.

completely ignoring the fact that it was the magic that had the power to attract.

infact they will deny it and say it was their badgering the crowd to watch and give them money.

further they book themselves as magicians but openly say they are not magicians, but simply entertainers who do a few tricks. they do this because magic is a draw.

these fellahs almost never manipulate, simply, it's takes skill to manipulate and keep a street crowd.

don't get me wrong.

this is great and everyone has their place on the street, that's the great thing about this venue.

AND of course on the contrary the best magicians in the buisness are buskers. but these fellahs are as sonny holliday says, "merely a handful all over the world."

part of the problem is when some one with great chops comes out and fails on the street they get discouraged. this is simply from lack of training.

many of you stage fellahs know if your gonna do a proper stage show you gotta have proper training, usually an astute teacher.