(Close Window)
Topic: Physician wants patients to not cry
Hello, I am a physician who dabbles in magic as a way to entertain my children patients so their experience in my office is not so traumatic. I have had great luck with the D'lite and the Mr. Bubble tricks and want to know if anyone out there knows of a quick but visually impressive trick to help children take their minds off of their vaccinations. Thanks in advance.
Use a palmed squeaker to "squeak" the patient when you touch him or her.

Give the patient a coin to hold when administering the shot—bent coin in patient's hand.

0pus
I've tried the squeaker with excellent success but I haven't used the bent coin yet. Sounds good!
Sounds like a fantastic idea, I bet the children look forward to coming to see you. Do you do balloon modeling? If so, make a balloon animal, then squeeze it with the squeaker palmed, making it squeak, and then give it to the child to try and make it squeak taking their minds off of their vaccinations.
Hi,
how about a paddle routine with one of those sticks that you stick in people's mouths to check throats or the old idea of palming a plastic frog ala a frog in your throat?
Phillip
Billy, thanks for the compliment. I recently did the Mr. Bubble trick on a boy with appendicitis while he was waiting to see the surgeon, and his mother later told me he couldn't stop talking about it during his recovery. Unfortunately we physicians tend to discourage younger children and balloons because of the few fatal cases where kids have choked on a popped balloon.
Phillip's "frog from the throat" sounds great!
Hi Aristides, I worked four years in a hospital in children's day treatment as a therapist and have seen plenty of kids go ballistic when it came time for a blood draw. I would do paper balls over the head to distract them.