(Close Window)
Topic: Forcing a patina to copper Cups...
Hey All,

Has anyone tried forcing a patina to their copper cups by using some of the methods one can find by goggling? I found one that uses baking soda; the others are scary chemical methods.

Thanks,
Bruce
I'm no expert, but practicing & performing with them will get your cups to patina pretty quickly.
Hi Chad,

I have been using a new set of Cups everyday for the past month as well as just handling them throughout the day. Nothing changed on them, just as shiny as if they were new. I suspect where I live is just too dry this time of year. Even the snow turns to powder. Last week I let the Cups sit in the shower and covered them with plastic bags… only then have they begun to change color.

Thanks,
Bruce
Hi Bruce,

I once heard of a gentleman who slept with his new cups (when his wife wasn't around of course), and I seem to recall it worked for him...oh, wait, darn it, I just remembered who it was.

G
Geoffrey,
I guess this set of Cups just doesn’t do it for me. A local artisan suggested that I urinate on them... for now I just can't embrace the suggestion.

Maybe I should send them to your part of the world.

I hope all is going well for you, always good to speak with you G,
Bruce
Bruce,

It's so hot here today -- approaching 40 degrees celsius -- that I'd only have to LOOK at them and they'd tarnish to your satisfaction...why don't you fly down and we'll see what we can do?

Urination is wisely avoided, I have heard.

All best,

G
First make sure the are not clear coated
Geoffrey,
That sounds good to me… it has been 15-17 degrees below 0 here. 3 more months of cold and then spring.

Walid,
They are not clear coated; I have never seen such a stubborn set of Cups. Oh by the way they are Squatty 2 Cups.

Thanks,
Bruce
Wow, my Squatty 2 cups gained a very nice patina very quickly.
I got them a few months ago, it was still very warm in this part of the country, and humid.

good luck