(Close Window)
Topic: First Chop Cup Suggestions?
I've been focusing so much on my stage act that I've been neglecting my close up work and would love to get back into it.
Can anyone give suggestions for good chop cups as well as any recommendations for DVDs to help me in this area? I've never worked with a chop cup before...it's gimmicked in some way though, correct?
Thanks for any advice you might have!
Andrew
Ickle pickle makes some nice looking ones.

http://www.magiclegacy.net/servlet/Detail?no=165
http://www.magiclegacy.net/servlet/Detail?no=166
For your first chop cup, the actual cup is not as important as you might think. The Morrissey cups are good first cups.

Once you have developed a routine and figured out what you want to do with it, then go for one of the better chop cups -- RnT II, Riser, Sherwood, etc.
The Ron Wilson/Larry Jennings routine is as good as it gets.
Thanks for the ideas!
Also, check out the immense number of chop cups from the past and present at http://www.cupsandballsmuseum.com .

You will need a username and password. Just follow the instructions on the first page, and the curator will send you a username and password within 24 hours.
I've browsed the site very briefly before but never really delved into it, so I will check it out. It's a very cool idea!
Practically any cup will work, it's the routine that makes it. Check Ron Wilson's in his book, "The Uncanny Scot" - he makes his from a paper coffee cup.

Not a chop cup, but well worth study:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ic9qpdN478
L & L's DVD of The Chop Cup features routines by Davis Regal, John Mendoza, Gary Ouellet, Danny Tong, Steve Dacri, Jim Swain, and Larry Jennings. Just remember, however, that the cup doesn't HAVE to looks like a magician's prop.
There is a version you can get from Jedinat Zaubershop called Kaffee-Wette. It works with just about ANY coffee mug.