(Close Window)
Topic: Do It Again!
I've been performing magic for about two years now. Usually, I'll carry around a deck of cards or a couple of coins in my pocket to perform with. Lately, I've noticed that after almost every single effect I perform, I'm always asked the same question, "Can you do it again". I usually avoid repeating an effect. What do ya'll do?
Matthew
Tell them you never repeat a trick because then there's no surprise.
Be prepared.
Do tricks that lend themselves to repetition, like mind reading with an 8/King stack - this is even better when it's repeated.
If you present an ACR routine, pause after the card appears on top of the deck the first time and let them say "do it again" (they don't' know you were going to anyway!).
Coins across can be presented the same way, if you pause after the first migration, get the idea?
You can also just say, "sure" and then do something else. I hate saying no to a spectator, but I also like to keep things on my terms and keep the surprises coming.
Well DDecae, there are certain effects you can repeat like 'coins across' and the Ambitous card routine. Unfortunately, many of the effects I perform do not have several phases like the two routines you mentioned. I thought it would be easy enough to just say 'sorry, but no' and not perform an effect again when someone asks me to. The only problem is a lot of people will dare me and say something like 'I bet you couldn't do it again' or they'll get annoyed.
Matthew
You tell them first time it's magic the second time it's educational.
Matthew I feel your pain. You've got a tough crowd there - I think kids are probably the worst at this, they are always saying "do it again". But I guess I hear that from kids because I'm just doing quick little impromptu tricks for kids.

I'd like to help you. Can you give an example of tricks you are doing that are always asked to be repeated?