(Close Window)
Topic: Source for large loads
Hi folks,

Looking for a source for large red knit(crochet) balls that match small balls. Like 2.5" or 3", I guess. I've been looking all over. Thanks
Try
http://sherwoodmagic.com/

He has tennis ball size knit load balls
Also, JamesTong on this forum makes nice ones. Although, several folks have commented lately that they haven't been able to reach him.

His website is:

http://www.uniquemagicballs.com
I think RNT2 has 1 7/8 inch balls that match at least some of their manipulation balls. I have no experience with these, but the regular manipulation and chopped RNT2 crochet balls are excellent.

Woland
I can make these.
But there's a big difference between 2 1/2" and 3". A ball that is exactly 2 1/2" is pretty much impossible. I can find 2 1/2" cores all day and knit a jacket over them, but they will come out to be 2 5/8".
What cups are you using them with?
Would you prefer them light or heavy?
They take time to make and you want to get the best fit.
Josh:

Find a ball that will fit in your present cups with a clearance of 1/8 inch all the way around. Then Donnie can work with it. I have several custom balls that he has made.

But you need to be very specific about the size you want.
Thanks for the resources. A few years ago, it was as simple as ordering a stock item from a catalog. The ones I have now were definitely not pre-measured, nor custom made. They are crochet over something rubber and bouncy. They appear to be 2 1/2 inch diameter, but might be 2 3/4.

Sherwood's look just like ones I have, but they have a cork inside. Mine are rubber, and I sure like being able to bounce them on the floor after I produce them. But then again, that's probably why they are starting to get a little grubby, hence the need for new ones.

Anyway thanks for all the guidance.
A tennis ball makes an excellent center for a load. Morrissey used to make fairly large loads.