(Close Window)
Topic: Busking
I just acquired my first busking spot. After 20+ years in showbiz, I'm going to let the audience decide what my show is worth. I have been doing the same routines for many years and am ready for some different material. The problem is I can't put a brand new routine in front of a "contracted" audience, so I found a touristy spot close to home that will allow me to entertain for donations. I start tomorrow night.

I have performed for theme parks, festivals and fairs for many years, but I have always been paid by a company and wasn't allowed to take tips. After all this time of studying and leaning how to build a tip and entertain one, I finally get to turn them!

Some people look down on street performers, which I don't understand. I have always admired the art. Mostly because I had never done it, but also because of the great skill it takes to do it right. Or, is that "done it" right?

I'm a variety act. Juggling, magic, sword swallowing, escapes, fire eating, etc.

I just hope the weather permits it..... Back to the elements.
Best of luck to you. I am interested in hearing about your progress. I recently wrote about busking in the blog section of my website. There is some tips and a download-able form that explains your rights as street performer. Something every Busker should carry with them in case you are hassled. If you visit the blog, please offer your comments.

The Link: http://www.nexusmagicshop.com/apps/blog/show/5981818-busking-at-the-seams-street-performing
Have fun with it, Rotten! Let us know how it goes.

Mark.
Thanks, Nexus. That is a terrific document, which I have not seen before. I've printed it out and saved the image file.

Dan.
No Problem Dan Happy to share. :o)
Thanks for posting the link.

But I also agree with your reasoning to busk. Becuase busking really is the purest test of the "entertainment value" in your act.

If the value is there, you get paid.

If not, you just get tired...

The Doctor