(Close Window)
Topic: Magic in Comedy Clubs
Hi All;

So I've been doing stand-up comedy for about 6 months, performing at open mics 1 - 3x per week and I'm considering performing an effect in place of doing my usual set. I was hoping to get some feedback\ideas from folks who are doing magic at comedy clubs as to what your overall experience has been. A little bit of background about myself -- I live in the Boston area and I've been an on\off magic hobbyist for a few years. In the past I've focused on close-up magic, though on stage I would be focusing more on parlor style effects with "props" that are common to the venue (ie beer bottles etc). I have concerns At the open mics I've attended I see very few (if any) prop comics and no other magicians performing, which makes me wonder if 1) this is the right venue for incorporating magic into and 2) what type of audience reaction I should expect at said venues.

I guess some questions:
- What is the general experience of performing magic at a comedy open mic or in a comedy club?
- Who are some magicians that have been successful in comedy club venues? The only name that comes to mind for me is Michael Finney, but there must be others.
- Most of the venues I go to the spectators are there to watch comedy and not participate in show. What is your experience with selecting effects that require audience participation?
- The owner of the local magic shop was pushing very heavily the effect "Silent Treatment by John Allen, which looks like a wonderful effect -- just not in that environment. Any suggestions\ideas for the types of effects that are more successful at comedy clubs? I realize this is highly personalized based on character, etc, but there must be some common traits (apart from making it funny).
- Any general suggestions on writing material? Mostly, when I perform stand-up I talk about my own life experience and add punch lines to it embellishment based on personal experience.