(Close Window)
Topic: Using a pre-bent coin
I have no experience with coin bending. I do know how to successful pre-bend a coin and what I would like to do is borrow a quarter, switch it out for the pre bent one, have that coin signed and then "bend" the signed coin. Has anyone used this method and if so could you suggest a source to properly learn this? I would like to learn how to have the bent coin signed without it being seen to be bent and the presentation to make it seem like it's actually bending. At this time I would like to focus on coins, not other types of metal bending.

Thanks!
You could hold the pre bended coin in a way that the bent is no visible and let the spectator write his initials on the visible part of it.
I'm doing a similar move when I place a pre bended coin in a spectator's hand while I'm covering the bended part with the tips of my fingers.
I don't think that having them sign a coin that's already bent is a good idea.

get a quantum bender 2 and bend their signed coin.
Daniel Garcia has a method or two with a pre bent coin on Bent, Touch, Slink.

Or just switch in the bent coin your own way. I use a topit which fits my needs.

None of the above allows it to be signed though.
I'm with Adam on this one. However, you'll pay a LOT for a Quantum Bender 2! It is the way you'll be able to do this. Oh, but you'll hear things like, "Hey what about the...(fill in the blank) bender?" Yeah, a cheaper way to go, but the difficulty increases.

If you cannot afford or find a Quantum Bender 2, this idea might not work for you.

Doug
QB2 is the way to go but can be prohibitively expensive for a hobbiest (but tax deductible for a working pro). If you have a good enough switch then there is no need for a signature. In fact dynamo used an unsigned coin and a painfully bad switch on his tv show and still got great reactions.