(Close Window)
Topic: "Stunning Charlie McCarthy Ventriloquist Figure. 100% handmade"
"Stunning Charlie McCarthy Ventriloquist Figure. 100% handmade"

A guy from Pennsylvania has made and is selling this replica
of Charlie McCarthy on the auction-site.

Does anyone know the maker?
I know someone in Pennsylvannia who is not the maker :)
I'm not an expert but I am guessing the original Charlie has a flat neck...
In any case... that is a stunning figure. :)
[quote]
On 2013-01-22 09:11, Wanlu wrote:
[/quote]

Actually, the smithsonian Charlie (which may or may not be the actual 'original' Charlie). has a rounded neck bottom (which looks like an add-on piece held in place with screws). The Smithsonian figure has moving eyes as well.

I've attached a picture of the Smithsonian Charlie's head (pic was taken before the head was repainted by someone, for display at the Smith)

I have also seen and handled another genuine 'vintage' Charlie which has the identical rounded neck bottom, constructed the same way (it doesn't have moving eyes).
I've read things before regarding just how many Charlies there actually were, and how many there still are. The count always seems to be slightly different...and I don't remember that Charlie's eyes ever moved, though it's been awhile since I've seen some of the films.

-Philip
Back in November I did a blog with pictures of this fellow doing his work up of Charlie Mccarthy. Here is the link
http://ventriloquistcentralblog.com/charlie-mccarthy-reproduction/#more-5101
Dan
http://www.ventriloquistcentral.com
What is the auction site?
We're not allowed to say the name here, but it's that large auction site everyone knows, do a search for;
Stunning Charlie McCarthy Ventriloquist Figure
Thanks, Dave. It is a very beautiful piece and probably worth the price to a collector.
There was some discission on facebook as to how accurate a copy it was, but that aside, it does look like a fine figure in it's own right.