(Close Window)
Topic: Intro from Seattle area
Hi! I'm Leland (or "Lee," or "Lelando," or whatever the heck you want to call me), from the Seattle area. I'm an amateur newbie, who has a lifetime of experience in other forms of entertaining, but I'm just getting started in magic at the age of 40.

I was a child actor, have been performing music in rock bands since my teen years, and have been hosting trivia nights in local bars several nights a week for almost 5 years, so obviously entertaining publicly is not a problem for me.

I'd also learned the art of Balloon Twisting in my early 20s, put them away, and recently picked them back up again after a 10+ year hiatus, and decided that I'd like to learn a bit of magic to incorporate along with my twisting. My primary motivation for picking the balloons back up, and subesquently adding magic to the mix, is to entertain my 3-year-old nephew. But since he lives out of town and I only see him once or twice a year, I'm also doing the street fair / farmers' market walk-around thing, too, and looking to add some restaurant work in the near future as well.

I've always enjoyed magic, and tried to study it as a kid, but didn't have the patience to practice at that age. It's much easier to stay focused at this age, and I am very comfortably picking up the basics. ;-) Sleight of hand is a bit scarier for me, but I'm just practicing it at home occasionally, and holding off on performing those types of 'tricks' until I'm comfortable with them.

Anyway, that's my intro. Looking forward to learning a lot in here.

Cheers,
Lelando
Welcome Lelando,

Well, you don't have stage fright and you know how to promote. (You are way ahead there).

All you need are some Magical skills and some advice on what Magic would be good to pursue.

The Café will certainly point you in the right direction.

Listen to Dick Osland. He has "a little" experience. LOL

If anyone can tell you what will entertain Kids (or Adults) he can.

-Mary Mowder
A bit more: