(Close Window)
Topic: 9v batteries - best quality?
Hey guys,

What 9v battery is best to use in my headset mic?
Energizer or Duracell?
Should I use a battery tester to see how many times I can use each battery before it dies mid-show?
I refuse to use rechargeables as I read they can be very unreliable and die quickly.
Thanks
Scott
Scott, I always use fresh Duracell batteries in my headset mic. However, I think any of the top brand name batteries are fine....just make sure they are alkaline. The big 3 for me are Duracell, Energizer, and Rayovac. (Not in that particular order) I am a musician, so I have a lot of experience with batteries. Rayovac batteries are less expensive than Duracell or Energizer batteries and I have found that they last just as long, if not longer in some cases.
I replace my batteries every weekend. I couldn't tell you how long they last but I always purchase either Duracell or Energizer.

Dan.
There are some industrial-strength 9v batteries that are recommended by the instructions of some older Collector's Workshop effects. Not sure where one would go about purchasing them in a hometown setting.

Steve
Personally, I had a Sennheiser 9v transmitter and receiver and the battery life was 2-3 hours or 2 shows. It was $5.00 for two 9v batteries. Every two shows I was paying $5.00 and it was adding up fast. When I realized my battery expense was over $250 I looked at another solution.

So I switched to a newer system that runs on AA batteries, life is about 8 hours. Battery expense is way lower.

Just in case your 9v battery life is similar and you have a similar experience.
Guys,

Most manufacturers recommend the industry standard... Procell - industrial version of Duracell, best prices I can find in the States are here:

http://www.cheap-batteries.com/p/PC16049VC.html

Gary
Thanks everyone. Great idea Gary!