(Close Window)
Topic: Coin Rolls
I've been practicing on and off for a few years. I can get it to roll on my index and middle by now but it usually falls apart after that. I know doing other things when you have a coin palmed can help with some effects but how do you apply that principle to coin rolls. Or is it just not meant for everybody.
When you wrote that you "can get it to roll on my index and middle by now"--does that mean you can get the coin only halfway across the back of your fingers?

Here are some tips from the way I do the coin roll:
1) Keep the fingers of the hand curled half-closed in a loose fist. I know some magicians do the coin roll with the fingers slightly extended, but I prefer a loose fist. I learned the move from Henry Hay's _Amateur Magician's Handbook_ and the photos and text give a good explanation.
2) Although I start out with the back of the fingers pretty much parallel to the floor, about midway across the fingers, my hand tilts slightly at the little finger end to allow gravity to help not only move the coin but to get it moving at a nice (pardon the expression) clip.
3) When it gets to the little finger, clip a little more of the coin than you did with the other fingers by reaching the little finger a little higher than you did with the other fingers.. This will allow you to pull the coin down so that most of it is below the fingers where the thumb can clip the coin and drag it across the inside of the fingers to the start point again.

I hope this helps a little.

----- Sonny
Can anyone explain to me why when I posted the message above the words "photo" and "clip the" turned blue and were underlined like they're a hyperlink? Somehow they become hyperlinks that generate pop-up messages about advertisement for things like iPads and such.

----- Sonny
Sonny,