(Close Window)
Topic: I need help
Message: Posted by: Johannes Lindrupsen (Sep 18, 2013 07:37AM)
Hey everyone! As the title says, I need help. Really! I don't like to make a post like this at all, but after all this time on the magic Café, I know people usually are really helpful and try to do what they can to help each other, so it feels a bit better to make this thread when thinking about that.

A little bit about me: I am 22 years old, I live in Norway and I am trying to work as an entertainer full time (that means, I have no other income)
I have a great kids show and a great comedy/magic show for adults. I am also an actor and do acting gigs when I get the possibility.

So, here is the problem. I am stuck. I have been doing magic for 15 years, and I started doing this fulltime for around 3 years ago. I have always had problems with marketing and to get my show out there, and I have only survived because I have been lucky and because I am a pretty likeable guy with a lot of connections. Right now I have 0 shows to look forward to, and I am, for the first time in my life, in the beginning of having money issues.

The fact that I always thought marketing and things that wherent the most funny things to do was so hard, has been my biggest problem, and I have been very angry with myself for not doing what was needed to get where I want. Earlier this year I got diagnosed with ADHD, and that solved a lot of my anger problems, as I now know a lot more about why I am the way I am.

The problem still is: How should I organize my working days? What should I focus on and how much time should I use to do it? I am pretty good at working as long as I know excactly what I need to do and when I need to do it.