(Close Window)
Topic: Cut and Restored Rope for Today's Audiences
Over the years there have been many different routines for Cut and Restored Rope.

What do you think is best (or your favorite) for today's more savvy audiences?
Did you do a search in our recently fixed search engine on the Café, this question has been answered in one form or another many times. There is actually only 3 methods to the cut and restored rope trick. All totally fool audiences young and old. Age has nothing to do with it, as classic tricks are considered classic because they are 100% foolers and also entertaining.

To answer your question, the best is the Sterling Short and Long Rope trick. If you want to just do the cut and restored, that will work, but th short and long feature make is funny and more entertaining.
Hi Bill,

Sorry for the redundant question. I'm very new to the Café, and not up to speed yet on how to go about things. (I was wondering why it the post got such meager response, but you've given me one reason).

At any rate, thanks so much for sending your reply, and giving me your thoughts on this trick. I was very encouraged by your opinion that the old, standard tricks are still mystifying and entertaining to today's more knowledgeable audiences.

Thanks again,

--Richard
Bill: Is the Sterling effect a marketed effect, or can it be found in one of the books, like the Abbott's Encyclopedia or Tarbell, etc?
I will "differ" with old friend Bill just a wee bit re: Harold's S&L.

I knew Harold back in the '50s. He was an "old pro" in the finest sense of the term. He had a shop (in Detroit), but he also was a perfoming magician on the road. I saw him do a school show, and although it would be a trifle "old fashioned" by today's "standards", it was ENTERTAINING!