(Close Window)
Topic: My Experience with Misdirection
I've been doing magic on and off for around 12 years and I am still no technical master of sleights or effects, however: even though learning sleights and perfecting them is hard, the hardest thing about learning magic is learning misdirection. Misdirection is extremely sensitive, if done badly it could lead to people thinking you are misdirecting them and then they will search for the 'dirty work' that's going on. On the other hand, when done well even the best of us magicians are fooled.

Why is it important?

To me, what makes a great magician is not how invisible their pass is, or how many coin sleights they can do flawlessly or even how many tricks you can perform. To me it's how well you can manipulate your audiences attention to where you want or need it. If you can do this well, it doesn't matter how bad your technique is, you will have a good chance of fooling your spectators. I bet any money you've done a vanish and someones said it's in the other hand, it doesn't matter how pefect your technique is, it will happen, but with a little bit of misdirection the probability of this happening is smaller

Misdirection Myths

"If you point at your hand that "has the coin" when doing a vanish straight after the move, people will believe it's there"

What a load of Sh*t! I can't tell you how many beginner books you'll find in a local library encourage this, it's rediculous. If you put something in your hand naturally in everyday situations you don't bloody point at it to prove to someone its there, so when it's done in a trick people get suspicious. Please for the love of our holy God don't do this. It makes you look like the uncle that does a few tricks, not a professional magician.

"If you state what is 'happening' people will believe what you are doing"