(Close Window)
Topic: Best ways to respond to inevitable audience questions?
Howdy all, I am rather new to magic but have been dedicated quite a bit of time to learning some basic sleights, purchased a few effects, watched a few DvDs and have begun doing some basic performances for some friends. I do have a questions that isn't really covered to my knowledge and that is how to respond to the inevitable "how did you do that?". Of course I could use the cliche "magic" but that seems to bring the excitement level of the trick down quite a few notches which is something I would like to avoid if another phrase or phrases better suit this question.

Another phrase I have trouble with is: "Do it again", with some tricks this isn't a huge problem but with others it creates a pretty big problem if the trick can be deconstructed or reverse engineered when repeated, or worse is requires some type of force.

The final phrase is: "let me see that" which of course isn't a problem if I am only using sleight of hand but if I am using a duplicate card or a gimmick I can't let them examine the item.

The best response I have come up with is to transition into another trick but obviously I cannot keep doing this! Thanks for the help!
Slydini line: I don't even know myself

Try using the search function or google with magic Café to find answers for this. There has been much written already on this in the Café.

You're right with the transition to another trick.
Eventually you will learn to mark the end of your performance. When you do this, the audience will feel it is over, and are less likely to ask this.

Hope this helps.