(Close Window)
Topic: Where to sell a magic trick?
Hi everyone I'm rather new to magic but I've created a magic trick and would like to sell it.. which website is best to try?
Before you can sell it you need to research and see if it's already been created, most have.
Then you need to research crediting moves etc.
not an easy task, you just can't think you created something and sell it to Magi.
You'll hear more from others about this...
not many people create original effects

If you really did create an original effect...congrats, but really you need to do some extra serious research before making such a statment.
Ok, you have created a magic trick. Cool!

But...

How many times have you performed it?
What was the audience reaction?

I've had a great idea for a prediction in a (non-gimmicked) brand-new sealed bottle of water for years. My idea looks great on paper, but I've never performed it in front of an audience. Therefore, I can't measure it's true impact and value.

If you are "rather new" to magic, then you should master your creation and perform it to audiences for a while, before trying to sell it.

Brian
Thanks guys, well my trick uses little effects which other people have created I'm sure but the big effect itself hasn't been created as far as I know
A well performed TRICK, produces an EFFECT. The EFFECT IS what the spectator SEES, or, THINKS that he SEES.

At least, use the proper nomenclature!

Note: cf. Fitzkee's "SHOWMANSHIP FOR MAGICIANS". Learn what various EFFECTS are possible!
I admit grammar was never my strong suit hehe but the difference seems to be quite subtle especially if the trick is done bluntly in front of the spectator and he doesn't realise so the trick and effect would be the same thing then would you call it a trick or an effect?
Sorry, but I was unable to completely decypher that "run on" sentence.