(Close Window)
Topic: Dai Vernon's wand spin
Hi,
I am currently studying Daryl's Master Course - Cups and balls (vol. 2). His presentation of the Dai Vernon routine does not include the wand spin at the vanish of the third ball in stage 2 referenced in "The Dai Vernon Book of Magic by Lewis Ganson".

So, I am curious;
- Why did Daryl omit this?
- Is this not a part of the "original routine"?
- Is there a video source where I can study it?

I wish you all a splendid week!
You may want to get in touch with Bri Watson.
He's a member here, his user name is cupsandballsmagic.
Bri has an excellent book all about the wand spin.
I second the Brian Watson booklet, "The Vernon-Mora Wand Spin Workshop." He breaks down the wand spin into two parts: the wand spin itself and the steal, and then puts the two together. I gave up on the wand spin many years ago, but Brian's book has helped me to finally master the move. One thing I was unaware of is the importance of the size of the wand. I was using a wand that is too long and bulky for the move to be done properly. The booklet has many clear photographs illustrating the moves, and if you want to learn the wand spin, it is the way to go. It is very inexpensive as well.

Of the video explanations, I found the explanation given by Mike Rogers on the Stevens video to be the best.
All great suggestions for learning the Vernon/Mora wand spin. I would also recommend the Michael Ammar C & B DVDs. The wand spin is on volume 2 and I think he does the wand spin beautifully. The wand should be well balanced and not too large or heavy.
Thank you very much everyone!!
One last question; how "hard" is the spin considered to be?
The spin itself is just like the baton spin that the baton girls do in high school and college marching bands. With regular, correct practice based on the suggestions that were submitted, you should be fine.
[quote] On Oct 6, 2015, Leo H wrote: