(Close Window)
Topic: Best in hands false shuffle?
I don't care about the easiest, what is the best (in your opinions) false shuffle non-requiring of a table?

I already know a couple OH false shuffles, but feel free to discuss them here as well!
If you want this sort of hard-won knowledge given to you, tell us how much work you've put in:

Tell us the ones you've tried, and your assessment of those.
Tim Cavendish: My apologies, I'm new to the Café. I would have joined a while back but they weren't accepting new members at the time, and I hadn't tried again until recently. What I currently use is in front of spectators for an in the hands false shuffle is an overhand shuffle. The 2 I am most comfortable with are Harry Lorayne's jog shuffle from his book Close Up Card Magic, and G W Hunter's full deck false shuffle from Greater Magic. I can do an in the hands push through false riffle, but even though it looks good in my mirror, I don't do it in performance because it feels awkward in my hands. I've spent the past 6 months on the Unshuffling Shuffle by Kiko Pastur, but cannot even begin to get the hang of it for my life. Because of this, in an attempt to mimic the action, I've learned to anti-faro. I'm not great at it yet, but I can already tell that it won't be as practical in front of spectators as the Unshuffling Shuffle. Perhaps the reason I couldn't grasp that technique is because the video is in another language with subtitles and not very in depth.

I was looking into getting "Past Midnight" by Benjamin Earl and Alakazam to learn the Grey Shuffle, but was uncertain because I am not certain if it can be done in the hands.

I also have 3 or 4 false cuts that I learned early on and am very comfortable with, but given their flourishy nature, I have never felt that these are anywhere near as deceptive.