(Close Window)
Topic: Help Setting Up A Business As A Walkaround Magician
Hi,

I've been doing Magic and then mentalism for around 15 years but never professionally. I have a pretty decent set and am able to entertain people but know nothing about how to get started in the business side of things.

I want to study and learn about how to set myself up, specifically on the legal/business side of things. Insurance, paying taxes etc. The problem is that I don't know what I don't know if that makes any sense.

My question is whether there is a book or DVD that covers this information. My ideal book would be 'Dummies Guide to Starting A Business As A Walkaround Magician". Does anything similar exist in the literature. I'm not looking for a 5 minute fix and am willing to spend time and money to study the right material.

Many thanks for any help you can give.

Edit: In case it's relevant, I'm in England.
Www.greatbusiness.gov.uk is a good place to start. Links to the variations for England, Scotland & N Ireland. :)
Good (free) & accurate advice here also :)
https://www.gov.uk/topic/business-tax/self-employed
Thanks Stu. That looks like a good place to start. Do you know if there is anything in the magical literature on this subject?
Not aware of anything but there's a couple of well versed members here who're likely more than happy to point you in the right direction I'm sure
:) on an iPhone so can't look them up easily...when I get to larger text I'll do that :)
[quote]On Oct 23, 2016, Yuan Moons wrote:
Hi,

I've been doing Magic and then mentalism for around 15 years but never professionally. I have a pretty decent set and am able to entertain people but know nothing about how to get started in the business side of things.

I want to study and learn about how to set myself up, specifically on the legal/business side of things. Insurance, paying taxes etc. The problem is that I don't know what I don't know if that makes any sense.