(Close Window)
Topic: Hello to all
Message: Posted by: The Electro-Swing Cut (Nov 1, 2016 09:09AM)
Hi Everyone,

I don't really know where to start on an intro, so I'll keep it brief. I first picked up a pack of cards 4 months ago at the age of 31. I was the guy at the poker night that always skipped dealing/shuffling due to not being able to hold a deck without dropping cards and looking like a bit of an idiot.

I started to learn a few (very) basic tricks for my young children (aged 3 and 5) after seeing their amazement at a card trick on the TV. I was attempting to be the "cool" Dad. After showing them the tricks, I wanted to learn some foundations of both magic and cardistry. The cardistry helped me with my handling of the deck and taught me some good disciplines, and the magic was ultimately what I wanted to achieve. Four month later and I am studying through The Royal Road to Card Magic, Card College v1, The Encyclopedia of Playing Card Flourishes and The Encyclopedia of Card Tricks. I also own Xtreme Beginnerz (de'vo) and The Trilogy by Dan and Dave. I have by no means mastered any of these, but continue to make solid progress. My presentation appears to be my weakest point, as I am making mistakes when performing for my family and friends that I do not normally make when on my own.

Hope that's enough info for now!
Thanks
Welcome to our motley crew!
You speak very good English for a foreigner!!! HEE HEE
--And, you re beginning, the "right" way. (BOOKS!!!!!!!!!)

Yes! Julius Caesar said it, a couple eons ago: "NON PROGREDI EST REGREDI" (Not going forward, is going backward!)

I am not a cardician, but, I've known most of the top cardicians in the past fifty years (Alex Elmsley, Ed Marlo, Ricky Jaye, Jon Racherbaumer, et al). --I've met Harry Lorrayne, but, really don't know him. I know that they would all agree! BOOKS!!!

Performing for your young children is much different than performing for your adult friends!