(Close Window)
Topic: Not Being Paid For GIG
I performed at a tradeshow for a company on 10 April and still have not been paid. To make a long story boring, I agreed on a fee, company is legit, I sent an invoice and W9. Numerous phone calls, emails and I even sent a hard copy of the invoice/contract. When I call, I get the runaround and a really rude person calls me back and I felt like a second class citizen on the phone with him. He said he would check into it and still have not heard back. The person who originally hired me, just keeps putting me off saying the check would be released in May....etc etc. I have been performing for over 10 years professionally and NEVER had this ever happen, even once. It must have happened at least once to someone here but I searched here on the Cafť and could not find any information. Any advice much appreciated. :loss:
Lawyer letter
Yeah looking at that option....thanks..
I am going to catch a lot of crap for this but here goes.

First I would forget the lawyer letter. It might cost more than you suspect.

How big is this company? I only ask because often they are on net 30 or net 45 with invoices. If you do not have it specifically in the contract then it is possible they are paying you on their terms. I am not faulting you for this or saying anything bad! Just saying how moat big companies work.

Often they do all the bills on one day of the month, thus the net 45 so it gives them time for holidays, weekends and such.

This is not in the least uncommon and if you do it long enough you have to keep track of what comes in when and sort of backtrack. The reason for people being rude is IF they are on net 45 and you are caking in less than 30 days you do not look good. It can ruin a client and make toy "seem" unprofessional. In reality all you want is to be paid. It is just looking at the same set of facts from a different perspective. (Mind you I do not see you as unprofessional.)