(Close Window)
Topic: Generic Lines
Hello All. I suspect this might be a touchy subject, so let me take a moment to say that my goal is to better understand other people's opinions on the matter. My opinion applies to me and my performances ONLY. I am not making any value jugdements towards any other performers. In fact, I generally try look at the parts of people I like and admire, and don't give the negatives any weight. I am sure there is lots about me that is lacking, and would not want to be judged on those qualities. That being said...

I have been performing magic for a couple of years now and I come from a Juggling Performance background. In that community, there is a body of 'drop lines' and other thematic jokes that many performers use. Many performers use them, and those that don't often refer to those performers as 'hacks'. Jugglers that are not inventive enough to develop their own presentations or character styles. In that light, I have pushed myself to rid my show of such lines.

I think that some inventive jugglers feel that if they work hard discovering a comic situation, they don't want someone else to 'borrow' the situation without investing the work. Also, I think it would be disheartening to see somebody else perform your own material.

In the magic community, of which I have been a part for the last couple of years, I see the same sorts of generic lines. Often these lines are so far removed from the original creator, that it cannot even be determined who ever came up with it or deserves credit, or even if that person feels as though others should use thier lines.