(Close Window)
Topic: Sleights that wont fool anyone
I have been watching a lot of youtube magic videos lately and something occured to me. There have been some sleights that have never fooled me. Even when I was a child and before I studied card magic. Here are three sleights I have always thought were not convincing.

1:The Flustration count
2:The Mexican Turnover.
3:The Shapeshifter Change.

I have seen these moves preformed even before I knew anything about card magic and they have never fooled me. Anyone else have some sleights that they think won't even fool laymen?
Properly done, Jack, they *will* fool people. For instance, JC Wagner's take on the Flustration Count makes it a real worker. The Shapeshifter is a bit of visual magic that can astound people; I don't do it because I can't nail it every time, but I've found Marlo's Sleeve Change accomplishes the exact same thing...and that, I *can* do.

Keep practicing.
These moves definitely fool!
Youtube magic videos. Well that speaks volumes.
I utilize the sleights you mention. If done properly, in the context of a routine with the proper speed finesse and timing they are powerful tools. They are popular sleights that have stood the test of time for a reason (in the proper hands)
No discrepancy can fool everybody. It's a discrepancy.
90% of the videos on YouTube show teenagers wearing shorts and a vest, sitting on their beds and filming a close up of their hands (alright slightly exaggerating here, but maybe not so much ...).

What I really mean is that too often the moves are performed badly, with a bad timing and, to make things worse, the close up shot, makes you miss (this is true for any move, not just the ones you cite here) body talk, direction of attention, eye contact between magician and audience and so on, and these are things that help immensely during the execution of the move.