(Close Window)
Topic: 9/11
We will never forget.
Amen Arthur! May God Bless those families that lost loved ones that terrible day.
It won't be forgotten, but it may be relegated to student-history with Pearl Harbor and D-day.
History is a relegation?
[quote]On Sep 11, 2019, magicfish wrote:
History is a relegation? [/quote]

In 20 years it's just another chapter.
Hard to believe that the children who were born that day are now old enough to vote. I was a school bus driver at the time and when I picked the kids up (Grade School) they were asking all kinds of questions based on rumors they heard in the school. I remained as professional as I could and just told them "something bad happened today but you should not listen to rumors. Instead, ask your parents when you get home". I got no complaints against me where several drivers did. That was the easy part though. That night, my wife and I had to talk to our grade school children about it.

I don't know if it was part of his decision to serve although I would be willing to bet it was. My son currently serves in the U.S.Navy and has since he graduated high school in 2011.
Message: Posted by: Jonathan Townsend (Sep 11, 2019 06:36PM)
[quote]On Sep 11, 2019, Mr Salk wrote:

In 20 years it's just another chapter. [/quote]Once upon a time people could travel by airplane without taking off their shoes.
Once upon a time in America, a man with a black hairy back was not thrown in a dungeon, not tortured and not given a fair trial for 20 years and now the black hairs on his back have turned white.

In 20 years it's just another chapter. [/quote]
History is history if it happened 20 years ago or 10 000 years ago.
How is it a relegation?
History is a written selective story: details, motivations, experiences, context, lies, lost, distorted.
History is written by the winners. Well at least until the advent of the Internet that was true.
[quote]On Sep 12, 2019, tommy wrote: