(Close Window)
Topic: Made a kid bleed for the 1st time today!
I am a newbie to the magic business. I've done about 10 paid shows so far. Mostly kids birthdays. I had a young girl come up today to help with cut and restored rope. She was about 8yrs old.

When I brought the rope up to have it cut she used one hand to steady the rope and the other to cut. I continued with the routine which consists of the volunteer cutting the rope a few more times. Each time she wanted to hold the rope near the place where she was cutting.

On the third or fourth cut someone yelled out "I think she cut her finger!"

I laughed along with everyone else thinking that it was a joke. I looked down and she was holding her hand with a confused look on her face. I said, "Did you really?"

She opened her hand and there was real blood! I could see the cut was not real big but it was bleeding! I absolutey froze and didn't know what to say. I asked if anyone had a band-aid and they all laughed louder!

I finally asked if her mom was there and told the girl she better go see her. Her mom took her away to the bathroom. I continued on and the girl returned a few minutes later with a band-aid on.

To make a long story even longer, the girl was fine and even helped with another trick. The mom said it was no big deal.

So the moral of the story is: keep a first aid kit with you at all times at all of your shows! Actually that wouldn't be a bad idea.

Just make sure you pick out the oldest kid and keep their other hand away from the scissors!
A first aid kit is not a bad idea. Good participant management is a better one.
Don't give scissors to children. If you want someone to cut something, make sure they are at least 12. You're lucky nothing worse happened than that happened. You could have been sued a lot of money if something worse happened or if it was the daughter of someone who just wanted a reason to sue.

Shane Wiker
Hi

Got your insurance ????

Paula