The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » First Restaurant Gig! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Elmagic32
View Profile
New user
Dayton
11 Posts

Profile of Elmagic32
I'm doing my first gig at a Mexican Restaurant and wanted to know if anyone had any good ideas for my amigo's.

I've been practicing magic for about 5 years and have a lot of time and money invested. I'm actually starting lessons from a pro this week. I have until Cinco De Mayo to prepare.

I've done a lot of bar magic and some parties, but mainly friends and family. So I'm a little nervous. Everyone says I should be getting paid, so here it goes.

Anyway, if anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated.
Joe Mauro
View Profile
Inner circle
1133 Posts

Profile of Joe Mauro
I've never done this type of work ( just a hobbysit ), but have seen a few magicians in restaurants. One man did the linking rings while people were eating and it looked like he was interupting. I had someone do a sexually sugestive card trick for my date, so I'd avoid things like that.

An in the hands triumph ( instant reset ) would go over well. I do it for fun for people and everyone is always shocked when the deck goes back to the proper order.

Best of luck to you on your first gig.

J.
~Joe
apv
View Profile
New user
14 Posts

Profile of apv
Congratulations...I have been working 3 nights a week for the last 12 years at the same restaurant...my humble advice would be:

- Approach a table AFTER the orders have been taken and BEFORE dinner arrives.
- If dinner arrives during your set, conclude as fast as possible...they may be loving your magic, but they came to eat. Tell them if they would like to see more, you would be happy to do so after they finish their dinner.
- Unless explicitly asked, do not do magic once the bill is on the table...the restaurant would rather "turn" the table.