The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Doves are breeding!!! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Jeff Jenson
View Profile
Veteran user
Denver, Colorado
319 Posts

Profile of Jeff Jenson
Hey there,
I was cleaning my cage the other day and as I looked in the nest I noticed that there were 2 eggs in it! This is my first time to deal with doves and eggs. So I had to go out and buy another pair so I can train them so I can still perform but, at the breeders I looked at the doves found males but no females. Then I looked at the nest and found a few females, so I talked to them and they agreed to give me one of the females but she was sitting on 3 eggs. So they gave me the bird and the 3 eggs. I got home and 1 of the eggs was infertile but the other 2 looked good. I put the eggs in a nest and put the original doves with them but they didn't want them. So I called a couple birds shops and talked to some people about what I should do. I basically came to the point where the 2 doves that a sitting on the eggs I could sneak the other 2 eggs under there and the would sit on them too.
Has anyone ever hear of a pair of doves incubating 4 eggs at the same time?

Thanks,
Jeff
Jeff Jenson
"Keep The Magic Alive"
Bob Sanders
View Profile
1945 - 2024
Magic Valley Ranch, Clanton, Alabama
20504 Posts

Profile of Bob Sanders
Jeff,

My sincere advice is to keep it to no more than two babies per pair. Parents have to feed them. One each is a full load.

Good Luck!

My doves are "busy" too! Spring has sprung!

Bob
Magic By Sander
Bob Sanders

Magic By Sander / The Amazed Wiz

AmazedWiz@Yahoo.com
knmagic
View Profile
Elite user
436 Posts

Profile of knmagic