The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Classic works of Larry Jennings question (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

pyromonkeyxxx
View Profile
New user
2 Posts

Profile of pyromonkeyxxx
I recently have been reading over the Classic works of Larry Jennings. It’s a fabulous book, but many of the tricks use sleights I do not know, mainly because I am fairly new to magic. I was wondering if any magicians who have this book could suggest some tricks I can start out with, and then slowly work my way up to the more complicated ones.
Thanks
Alex
Dave V
View Profile
Inner circle
Las Vegas, NV
4824 Posts

Profile of Dave V
Pyro, unfortunately you're like a first grader looking at a college text book. No wonder it looks tough, it is!

Put this on your bookshelf for a while and start with something like Card College. Then come back to the Jennings book and it'll start making more and more sense.
No trees were killed in the making of this message, but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
S2000magician
View Profile
Inner circle
Yorba Linda, CA
3465 Posts

Profile of S2000magician
That's silly.

Look at Always Cut the Cards, which, should memory serve, is the first effect in the book. It's not tough and it plays well.
Richard Tremblay
View Profile
Regular user
Québec, Canada
120 Posts

Profile of Richard Tremblay
IMPOSSIBLE
PREFIGURATION

You should have a lot of fun with these two and they are easy.

Richard Tremblay
kermitthefrog
View Profile
Regular user
France
128 Posts

Profile of kermitthefrog
Close-Up Illusion isn't technically difficult, is it? And it's great fun.
scott0819
View Profile
Inner circle
Toronto, Ont.
1040 Posts

Profile of scott0819
Another vote for
PREFIGURATION
and when you learn more sleights you can routine PREFIGURATION with SYNCRONICITY.
RS1963
View Profile
Inner circle
2734 Posts

Profile of RS1963
Quote:
On 2005-07-25 17:17, kermitthefrog wrote: