The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » What happened, was this... » » First 'Performance' In A While. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Shawn74
View Profile
Loyal user
New Mexico
211 Posts

Profile of Shawn74
I use the quotes around the word performance, because I am not a professional. I enjoy magic and I enjoy making those around me smile. So I was at work and it was a slow night. My boss saw me messing with my cards, and I had shown him a trick before, so he came over and wanted me to do more. I said 'OK' figureing the only way that I'll ever perform is just do it and not stress about messing things up so much. So I ended up going through every card trick I thought I could perform regularly. 10 effects and only missed 1. and the only reason I messed that one up was b/c someone walked up behind me and got the 'backstage' view.

I also did a small coin manipulation routine. I was given the compliment that I would be hanged if it were a different time in history. lol.

It definatly made me feel good.

This weekend I'm going to a family reunion and the heat is on again from relatives this time, many I've never met. Hopefully I don't get nervous and decide to do nothing.

Just wanted to share this experiance, since many of you here have helped me start getting into the mind set that just perform and don't worry too much about flubbing an effect, it's bound to happen. That's the other side of practice.

Thanks again everyone
Shawn
Hold your breath...make a wish...count to 3... and you'll be in a world of pure imagination
Willy Wonka
Shawn74
View Profile
Loyal user
New Mexico
211 Posts

Profile of Shawn74