The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Thank you for reading this letter. » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Marty
View Profile
Regular user
112 Posts

Profile of Marty
Here's a letter I emailed to Trevor Lewis that explains a little about my background:

My interest in magic parallels my interest in music. During the early to mid 60's I began to play the drums and practice magic simultaneously. As time went by, the music business eclipsed the magic part of my life, and I started playing the drums full time. I became a professional musician. There was more money and job opportunities in music, so that’s the direction I developed. But, often I did both–I can remember being the warm-up act for my own band!

I still play music, but magic has always been in the background. The community orchestra I’m in is a great joy to me, but I like to get out there and perform magic on occasion too. As you can see, I’m not new to magic or the entertainment field in general, but kids’ show magic is something, until recently, I didn’t know that much about. Oh, I had performed for children before, but I just did one trick after another, and knew nothing of the bits of business that make a show fun for kids (you have to remember this was during the 60's and 70's).