The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Coin Magic Advice (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magicgirl
View Profile
New user
63 Posts

Profile of magicgirl
Hi All,
I'm just getting into coin magic and in the next couple of weeks, I really want to devote my time to learning a few basic moves. I have Modern Coin Magic and I also have David Roth's first three coin videos. Basically what I am asking is what one move you would recommend a beginner to learn in the following categories:

Palming Method
Switch/Pass Method
Vanish Method

Your advice is greatly appreciated.

Magicgirl
secondbaseman
View Profile
Loyal user
Amsterdam
225 Posts

Profile of secondbaseman
I am not a coin guy but I do know that the classic palm finger palm and thumb palm are 3 of the most used palms

hope it helps

Niels
pasteboard wizard
View Profile
New user
17 Posts

Profile of pasteboard wizard
Read the Bobo book, great stuff in it. Its explained pretty well, and the first couple of chapters will lay down a foundation for you. Welcome to the world of coins. Smile
magicgirl
View Profile
New user
63 Posts

Profile of magicgirl
Ok... maybe if I tell exactly why I want to focus on just a few movements in the next two weeks it will help.

A very well known magician will be appearing in town this month and is doing a show followed by a lecture. Also, before the show he is offering a paid workshop that lasts for about an hour where he will work one on one with the participants on whatever they want - coins, cards, you name it. So, I want to be prepared with a few moves I have been practicing routinely rather than a whole list of stuff I don't know very well.