The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Offset m****t: in a chop cup: pro vs con (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
kerpa
View Profile
Special user
Michael Miller
594 Posts

Profile of kerpa
I am an amateur magish just starting on learning a chop cup routine. I am thinking of picking up a leather chop cup. So far, the two leather chop cups I've been able to locate (one is a dice stacking cup from theambitiouscard.com, the other from Tex Austin) have the m****et placed offset near a seam, I think to permit easy identification and to allow a demonstration of rolling the ball in and out of the cup).
As a beginner, I am leery of this - should I be? I worry that I will learn "offset" moves with an offset m****t that might appear unnatural (given my just getting started in this). Also, glimpsing at the seam reminds me of my efforts to avoid looking too much at a deck of cards when I do card effects.
Are there leather chop cups out there with the usual location for the m****t?
Thanks!
kerpa
a/k/a Michael Miller
Chicago area
Michael Miller
(Michael Merlin: original family --and stage-- name)
TheAmbitiousCard
View Profile
Eternal Order
Northern California
13425 Posts

Profile of TheAmbitiousCard
Michael...

I can put the m*** anywhere you want.

There is no learning curve and there are no extra or different moves to learn.
You'd never know the difference unless you wanted to use the roll-in/roll-out functionality. If you choose to ignore it's location, just ignore it and go ahead with your routine. Same moves you're used to.

As far as looking, you don't have to worry about that either. You just "see" the seam as you pick it up. It's not like you have to hold it up to the light, rotate the cup around and squint.

I appreciate your concern but either way it's all a no brainer.

So pick your spot and let me know Smile
www.theambitiouscard.com Hand Crafted Magic