The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » A Rough Question (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MRReed
View Profile
New user
Lake Odessa, MI
58 Posts

Profile of MRReed
I've been performing tricks (unprofessionally) for about 55 years -- but... I've never performed tricks that require roughed card surfaces (or are aided by using roughed cards), hence my newbie-type question.

A shop sold me "Rustoleum Painters Touch" clear matte for roughing. It works fine... for awhile. However, the cards seem to lose their roughness very rapidly -- after using only a VERY few times. Is this normal, or is there another brand of spray that will last longer?

Help is greatly appreciated... Smile

(moved from "Pick-A-Card" forum)
The Affordable Card Presses
1-, 2- and 4-deck Presses at Card Presses
Peter Marucci
View Profile
Inner circle
5389 Posts

Profile of Peter Marucci
You might try Tesco (sp?) Dullcote 1260.
You can get this in spray or paint in any hobby and craft store. It is used to dull the finish of model cars and planes.
(I prefer the spray.)
Use very little and let it dry thoroughly; the cards I've used it on have seen VERY heavy use and I've never had to re-spray.
The other advantage is that it is about half the price of roughing fluid that is sold in many magic shops. (And that is exactly what roughing fluid is! The label on the can of Dullcote is removed and a new label stuck on!)
kpkilburn
View Profile
New user
Ft. Bragg, NC
23 Posts

Profile of kpkilburn
I use Krylon Spray Matte Finish, which has worked very well for me. I may not be using the cards as much as you are, so your mileage with it may vary.
WilliamWHolcomb
View Profile
Special user
Twinsburg, Ohio
533 Posts

Profile of WilliamWHolcomb