The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Getting Jobs That Pay (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Angio333
View Profile
Regular user
130 Posts

Profile of Angio333
What is the best way that you have found to market yourself to get gigs that pay? Also, how long are your routines, and how much is a good price to charge?

Thanks in advance.
- C
solrak29
View Profile
Special user
NY Metro
936 Posts

Profile of solrak29
Hey Angio,
I'm sure your going to get the, "search the Café" response with this one. This information is scattered all over the Café. I don't have the direct links but this is what I learned here... remember, I am not a pro yet... feel free to correct me if I am wrong.

You have to market your self as you would any business.
Jim Snacks (just search for his name) has one of best reviews on his course on how to do this in detail.

Essentially, it comes down to running a business, but not just any business, an entertainment business (this is my 2 cents).

The length of the routines depends on the venue or market that you are targeting. You have to know this to get your business going, so we need more information here.

Charging?
There is nice piece written by Jamie (again search on this)
a veteran here in the Café who has a nice baseline. This conversation is brought up time and time again, but you can get an idea after reading the first hundred posts. Also, again, it depends on the venue or market.

I know this barely helps, but hopefully points the way.
To Find Me On The Pitch, Follow me :On Twitter
Checkout my pseudo blog : The Sidewalk Performers Forum

"I intend to live forever, or die trying" - Groucho Marx
evolve629
View Profile
Inner circle
A stack of
3838 Posts

Profile of evolve629
The short of the answer is to get Live At The Jailhouse, a guide to restaurant magic!
One hundred percent of the shots you don't take don't go in - Wayne Gretzky