The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Best dvd to learn Cups and Balls (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page [Previous]  1~2
Bill Palmer
View Profile
Eternal Order
Only Jonathan Townsend has more than
24315 Posts

Profile of Bill Palmer
Quote:
On 2007-01-22 19:02, apendola wrote:
I just learned cups and balls from gazzo's dvd being a complete and total beginner.

He takes no assumption of your knowledge, however you have to have some aptitude to catch onto some of the sleights as they can go quickly.

His presentational techniques will take you farther than "technically correct sleights" ever will so I say give it a shot.

This is a fairly good observation. However, Gazzo's presentational techniques will work even better with technically correct sleights. He did his routine that way until his stroke. If you don't think so, you don't know Gazzo.

The idea that technical correctness and good entertainment are somehow mutually exclusive is taking a very narrow view of magic.

Quote:
On 2007-01-22 20:50, scaress wrote:
What do you guys think of Rafael Benatar's Elegant cups and balls DVD?

I was thinking of getting that one.

It's like all of Rafael's work -- worth getting.
"The Swatter"

Founder of CODBAMMC

My Chickasaw name is "Throws Money at Cups."

www.cupsandballsmuseum.com
apendola
View Profile
New user
8 Posts

Profile of apendola
Quote:
On 2007-01-22 23:07, Bill Palmer wrote:

This is a fairly good observation. However, Gazzo's presentational techniques will work even better with technically correct sleights. He did his routine that way until his stroke. If you don't think so, you don't know Gazzo.

The idea that technical correctness and good entertainment are somehow mutually exclusive is taking a very narrow view of magic.