The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Need help (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page [Previous]  1~2
MagiClyde
View Profile
Special user
Columbus, Ohio
871 Posts

Profile of MagiClyde
Quote:
Good luck and break a leg!

Owen, don't take what magicgrandpa said literally! It could be a real show stopper! Smile

It sounds as if you've already got a good number of tricks already. Building a routine out of them and developing some presentation are, ultimately, the important parts.

As a beginner, I really don't think that they expect you to know how to do Unshuffled or any complex sleights just out of the gate.

While the local SAM I joined did not require me to do such a presentation as a condition for joining, I have used the club meetings as my springboard to practice and polish some routines both old and new. As a matter of fact, I learned the Oily Thoughts trick out of the April GENII and performed it in front of them. It is the most technical trick I've performed to date. I'm just proud of the fact that I did it and they didn't see the sleights because of all the practice I put into it.

As for being afraid to perform in front of other magicians, don't give it a second thought. Most of them, if they are any good at all, have seen quite a bit already. It is very doubtful that you will perform a trick that at least one of them hasn't seen (or at least a variant). If nothing else, consider this an opportunity to get some of the performance jitters out of the way so you can be on your way to performing in front of "muggles"!

While I echo magicgrandpa's sentiments, if you MUST break a leg, don't break it too hard! Smile
Magic! The quicker picker-upper!
Wes65
View Profile
Inner circle
I've said very little in
1219 Posts

Profile of Wes65