The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Rising Card? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Sk8erBoi9305
View Profile
Regular user
133 Posts

Profile of Sk8erBoi9305
I'm kinda new to magic and I've been looking for a good rising card effect. I've found a few, like a simple rising card or box monster. could you guys give me some advice on which is good for the price? oh, and I've got about a $40 budget, just so ya know...
Steven Steele
View Profile
Chief of Staff
1868 Posts

Profile of Steven Steele
It depends on what your criteria are. I used a variety of methods over time, but settled on Ken Krenzel's method which is pure sleight of hand. The pamphlet is called "On the Up and Up" and it's written by Richard Kaufman. This is an impromptu method, but very strong.

There are other methods that allow you to use a normal deck, "Kundalina Rising" by Jeff McBride. And still other methods require a dedicated deck of cards. I'm not familiar with what's available presently. Perhaps other members can weigh in on this. However, when you become rich and famous you can get Signature Piece's Rising Cards for about $12,000.
Coram Deo
Sk8erBoi9305
View Profile
Regular user
133 Posts

Profile of Sk8erBoi9305
Do you know where I could find this pamphlet called "on the up and up" it sounds very good, especially because it's impromptu.
damkat69
View Profile
New user
59 Posts

Profile of damkat69
Well the first thing that comes to mind is the rising deck, you could also go with a shimmed card and a pk ring, an IT reel will work as well but requires some pratice. I agree with Steven though that the best method is slight of hand, once it is mastered it can be done anywhere, anytime and all you need is a normal deck of cards. Also learn many different ways to force a card which will make your effect better if doing it mulitple times for the same group of people.
mrunge
View Profile
Inner circle
Charleston, SC