The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Believe it or not... » » Books? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

crisgal
View Profile
New user
80 Posts

Profile of crisgal
Just read "Freak Show Man", by Jerry Holtman, about Harry Lewiston (a great recommendation from John Bradshaw).
What other books on the sideshow would you recommend? I'll read even the ones with a bad reputation and take them with a grain of salt (like Arthur H. Lewis' "Carnival" - which I've been told is full of inaccurate information).
crisgal
View Profile
New user
80 Posts

Profile of crisgal
Oh. Brief introduction: My name is Cris Siqueira, and I'm a Brassilian filmmaker based in Milwaukee and a big fan of the circus and the sideshow - I have met some of you at the Sideshow Gathering and pestered Todd a couple of times when he was in town. Smile I'm also a wannabe historian (grad school starts in January...), interested in researching the history of the women in the sideshow.

Suggestions of books in the history of magic are also welcome - I enjoy Jim Steinmeyer's books a lot. Dr. Wilson, I'm counting on you for this one. Smile
drwilson
View Profile
Inner circle
Bar Harbor, ME
2191 Posts

Profile of drwilson
Hello, Cris!

For the history of magic, you can get off to a good start with Milbourne Christopher's Illustrated History of Magic and Ricky Jay's Learned Pigs and Fireproof Women. Any of Ricky Jay's books are grand fun. See also Jay's Journal of Anomalies.