The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » Are dangerous illusions okay for busking? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magic924
View Profile
New user
63 Posts

Profile of magic924
Here's the thing. I'm going to start busking withing the next week or so. I'm pretty excited about it too. I was wondering though, is using a razor blade illusion for my closer a bad idea? It's the one with 5 razorblades in your mouth and then you pull them out all tied to a string. I am very into mentalism so I plan to incorporate that into my act. As well as a shackle escape and some rope magic. I live in Grand Rapids right now but I'm moving to NYC in a month because I'm a stand up comedian. Point being I want to busk for a living. Do you guys think its possible to make a living busking in NYC? (need to make roughly $2000 a month)
mattcramer.com
buildupmusclefast.com
Dynamike
View Profile
Eternal Order
FullTimer
24148 Posts

Profile of Dynamike
I am a professional magician but not a professional busker. If you can perform each of those effects in a professional manner I see no problem. I do not know the best order of the routine on the streets. The best way to find out is to try them on the streets. Whichever one that gets you the strongest applause should be the grand finale. What rope magic are you thinking about?

Does Grand Rapids, MI have busking permits?

A living can be made from busking in the streets. It will take a lot of hours. But it can be done because I noticed professionals doing it. I have no idea of the monthly amount.

Keep in touch with us when you make it to NYC. I might have some questions for you.

Good luck.
Bill Nuvo
View Profile
Inner circle
3094 Posts or
2742 Posts

Profile of Bill Nuvo
In my opinion, I don't find the razor blade effect to be strong enough to be a closer (based on effect alone...persona can change that). Again thought, that's just for me.