The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Shuffled not Stirred » » Breaking cards in... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

WillHayden
View Profile
New user
Seattle
2 Posts

Profile of WillHayden
Hey guys,

Hope it's OK to post this here...

I'm new to Card Magic and Magic in general, but in your opinion, what is the best way to break-in a new, stiff deck of cards?

Which brand of cards typically need the least amount of breaking-in, or even better, what brand of cards are best for beginners?

I'm currently using Bicycle - The Tragic Royalty Deck. (which I have to say, has a pretty neat art direction.)

Thanks Guys!

-WillHayden
The Amazing Noobini
View Profile
Inner circle
Oslo, Norway
1658 Posts

Profile of The Amazing Noobini
Hi and welcome to the Café! Your post will most likely be moved to the "New to magic" section, but anyway:

I break in cards by first rubbing my hands along the sides for a while to polish the edges a little. Sometimes I use an ultra fine file from a hobby store for this. You aren't looking to tear paper fibers, just polish off what is already rough. However, if you aren't yet working on things like Faro Shuffles, this step will have little point really. Some will say that it prolongs the longevity of the cards, but I haven't found that to be more than wishful thinking.

The next thing I do is just to do a lot of in the hands Riffle Shuffles which softens the paper a little. But most cards won't really start to actually feel broken in until after a week. That is in my hands tho. It all depends on who you are and what you do with the deck. I find that my cards last a lot longer now than two years ago because I probably have a lighter touch now that I have been handling cards for two years. But sometimes you're working on a particular sleight which is a card killer and the decks do not last as long.