The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Books, Pamphlets & Lecture Notes » » The Magic of Ascanio Knives and Color-Blindness (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MagicSanta
View Profile
Inner circle
Northern Nevada
5841 Posts

Profile of MagicSanta
Title: The Magic of Ascanio Knives and Color-Blindness
Medium: Book, hard cover, 132 pages, illustrated
Arena: Close up, walk around
Available: Any shop, distributed by Murphys Magic Supplies

Arturo de Ascanio will be remembered as one of the great thinkers and practitioners in the art of magic and is considered the ‘father of Spanish card magic’. A lawyer by trade Ascanio was mentored by the great Fred Kaps and was very well respected by magicians around the world. He wrote a number of books which have been out of print for some time, unfortunately for those who didn’t have them, Four volumes have been released of Ascanios work, Knives and Color-Blindness being volume four.

Knives and Color Blindness is a collection of moves with knives, some basic and some requiring a bit of practice. Pretty much everything you will want to know about working with knives is in this book and the explanations are very clearly written. The psychology of the why and when to do a move is included which is often the key to successfully presenting an effect. A number of routines are also provided by some of the big names in magic as well as by those you may never have heard of, all well written and solid routines. I’ve been doing paddle moves and knives for many years and found out I was doing some things wrong and also found new ideas to improve my routines. If you want to learn how to work the knives this is the best source I’ve ever seen. The index is clear and complete, the illustrations drawn and enough to get the job done but not too many as to insult the reader.