The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » One Trick at a Time (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Brad Burt
View Profile
Inner circle
2675 Posts

Profile of Brad Burt
Hello:

It may seem insane for a dealer to suggest this to a beginner, but I have a LOT of experience in starting folks out in magic. After 33+ years the number has to be in the tens of thousands.

The question is asked time and time again: How do you start out?

Historically, going back before the publication of Modern Magic by Hoffmann, you became a 'magician' by direct induction via someone already a magician. You literally apprenticed yourself to an expert in the craft and were thereby given over time the tools to become, hopefully, a magical performer yourself.

There were very few books and obviously no videos to work with and the number of those performing magic was small in comparison to other art and craft forms.

Time passes and the publication of Modern Magic and then Greater Magic and some other significant tomes have a huge affect upon the numbers of folks who practice magic.

Today you are probably as unlikely to apprentice yourself to a magician as you were 100+ years ago, but for very different reasons. The most obvious is the sheer availability of information and training available in book and video form.

So what do you do? Oddly, I think the best way to start is to simply buy ONE trick that you like either the demo or sound of and work on it until you have it mastered. Attempt a performance.

What went wrong?
What went right?
Why?

If it went wrong, what could you adjust to make it go right the next time?

If it went right, how right did it go and what could you do to make it better, more profound, more entertaining?

Use that first trick to SEE what magic is about. Experience MAGIC performed for others and see if it fits you..really.