The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Don't sue me! It's just a bunch of words! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

daffydoug
View Profile
Eternal Order
Look mom! I've got
14077 Posts

Profile of daffydoug
I was knocked for a loop tonight. I am constructing a website..well, actually, my son is constructing it, I am writing content.

He's pretty good. Self taught... taught himself programming codes, and I'm pretty proud of him. He's become quite proficient.

Anyway, the site is coming along fabulously. It's a site where people can go to learn new words..improve their vocabulary. It is going to have the mother of all word quizzes, and a word a day feature, all written by yours truly. We have a great, unique domain name, and the home page stands out visually real nice.

The functionality is improving and growing every day, and we may be a week or two from opening.

BUT, here comes the biggie. Tonight I gave Jonathan a break from programming, and I said let's go to the corner store and get something to drink. In the car he said to me "Dad, we need to start thinking about creating our terms of use. We have to do that so no one will sue us."

I replied: "Huh?? Sue me for what?" "For teaching them new vocabulary words?" "It's not like they are trying to rob my house and tripped on my doorstep and broke their leg on the way in. It's just a place where they can go to read and learn new words. What possible harm or injury can come from that?" He replied, "Oh, No! They can sue you for anything. They will make something up. Like some one could say. "I stayed up all night reading your website, and I was late for work the next day, and lost my job. So it's your fault and I'm taking you to court."

Then I realized that he's probably right. I'm a walking dollar sign to someone out there in internet land. probably a group of people.