The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » Advice for a newbie (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

brody
View Profile
Inner circle
Omaha
1313 Posts

Profile of brody
Hi:

I'm doing a charity event soon, and they've asked that I perform alfresco, which I'm taking to mean very much like busking.

I've never done this before, so I thought I'd run my ideas past you guys for vetting.

#1. I'm going to have a small music style stand with a box on top to act as my storage area.

#2. I'm going to perform for 6 to 8 minutes and then wait 10 minutes before starting again. (The event is an outdoor fair, so I'm guessing 10 minutes should guarantee me a fresh crowd.)

#3. I'm going to be wearing a button that identifies me as being a member of the charity team.

#4. I'm going to stop a random guy and ask for his help. I'm going to hand him the end of a piece of rope, then duplicate the process with another guy.

I'm going to drag them out of the main flow and have them drop the ends on the ground to act as a "don't' cross line". This process (I'm hoping) will start to build a crowd.

#5. My material is going to be:
Sidewalk Shuffle
Dollar bill switch with Polygripped
Fastest knot in the west
Egg Bag
Cards across
Card to pocket
Sponge Balls

Thoughts/ideas?
Chance
View Profile
Inner circle
1385 Posts

Profile of Chance
You're either on or off. Be in character from the moment you begin. If the 2 guys aren't part of your character then don't use them, just lay out the rope yourself... IN CHARACTER. Doing it the way you describe only opens you up to refusals and a guaranteed slow start.