The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Right or Wrong? » » Unintentional Exposure of Magic Secrets Through Data Aggregation (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

TheRaven
View Profile
Special user
597 Posts

Profile of TheRaven
I am an Information Security Professional with over 20 years experience in Information Technology. I also happen to be an amateur magician. I wanted to share a concern I have regarding what could be our unintentional contribution to the exposure of magic secrets.

There is a principle in the information security discipline called Data Aggregation. The definition of Data Aggregation as a security risk is that unclassified information from multiple sources can be combined to reveal a piece of classified information. An oversimplified example would be if my employee number and my salary (but not my name) appeared in one database and my name and employee number (but not my salary) appeared in another database, by combining this information someone could know my salary.

For the magic community, the Internet now makes finding out a secret of a trick through data aggregation much more feasible. I have noticed that in a lot of cases, through our passion in discussing tricks we may reveal bits and pieces that by themselves do not seem to reveal something. Combine the information in several posts, a few bits and pieces from elsewhere on the Internet, a video or two from YouTube and suddenly a very good secret may be exposed. Each individual revealing their bit of information may think they are being very obtuse, but when the information is aggregated the secret can become glaringly obvious. The information revealed can be very, very subtle.