The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Hello (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mcfrazier
View Profile
New user
PG County, Maryland
8 Posts

Profile of mcfrazier
Hey there! I'm Mac Frazier, and I'm a new member. I was very into magic when I was a pre-teen in the seventies, but then mostly drifted away. I stayed interested in sleight of hand--particular working cards--on and off through my teen and young adult years, though. I wasn't putting on shows, but just playing around with various forces and controls, and maybe a beginner-level flourish here and there.

Recently, though, my original interest in Magic has been rekindled, and in fact has flared up into a downright obsession. I am a preacher by profession (although until recently I was an executive at a web company I co-founded), but not content to be a "normal" one. I believe strongly in the value of "artistic cross training", so to speak, and have taken up formal studies of playing guitar, writing music, and writing and delivering stand up comedy routines, among other arts, as ways of honing my own craft of public speaking. I particularly find the structural parallels between comedy and magic (both use misdirection, both tend to "hammock" their routines, etc.) fascinating.

I don't plan at this point to ever become a professional magician, but I am working very hard to become an extremely competent amateur. My focus is again on cards and coins, right now, but not exclusively.

Oh, and I also teach a little bit at the elementary school level, so I (unsurprisingly) find opportunities to use magic in the classroom now and then.